Mom’s Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’m the type of person who will typically never re-reads a book, no matter how fantastic it was.  I’m talking to you J.K. Rowling.  However, songs and music are a different story.  This week I am obsessed with this song:

Last week it was this song:

And no I do not like One Direction…this happened to be a fluke of pure genius.

Who knows what song it will be next week!  All I can say is I can put a song on replay for hours on end and not get tired of it.  The same could be said for my Mom’s classic chocolate chip cookies 🙂  I will always love these cookies and will be making them forever.  You just can’t go wrong with these babies!

With milk and you’ve just been transferred to pure bliss

These cookies are fabulous, but if you like super sweet chocolate chip cookies, this isn’t the right recipe for you.  You can always lessen the amount of salt, but I like my stuff with a little salty kick to go along with the sweet taste.  The combination of sweet and salty is deadly to me…

I’m going to be totally honest here though, they do happen to be the fabulous Toll House chocolate chip cookie recipe, but my Mom and I have perfected the art of making these cookies and I’ll share some of those tips with this recipe.

Mom’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups unsifted flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup shortening-some people use butter instead of shortening, yeah doesn’t fly for us.
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Mix together the shortening, sugar, and brown sugar until well combined.

2. Add in the vanilla extract and eggs.  Mix well.

3. Add in the flour, baking soda, and salt.  Mix well and then add in the chocolate chips.

4. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

5. These are “drop cookies” so there is no need to roll out the dough to form them into balls.  Basically take a small spoon (teaspoon size, typically called dessert spoons) and scoop out some dough and then just plot it right onto the cookie sheet.  They will come out in circles, don’t you worry!

4. Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes.  I always start with 8 minutes because it’s easier to add time than over bake them.  But the real key here is to ever so slightly under bake them.  Just so that the center is a little big lighter of a color than the rest of the cookie.  Take them out of the oven and leave them on the baking sheet for about 30 seconds (they will still bake while on the cookie sheet) and then transfer them to  a wire rack to cool.  Hopefully your cookies will be nice and soft, especially in the middle!

Categories: Cookies, Dessert | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.